Drummer Greg explains how the band was formed.

What do hard-working MP's do in their spare time? The answer, in some cases, is probably 'not much'.

But MP4 are on a mission. They are using their love of music to help raise money for charity and to assist good causes.

Their first album, which was released in 2005, contained four tracks, -three covers and one original. The songs are: 'In the Midnight Hour', 'Can't Buy Me Love', 'My Old Friend the Blues' and a band-original track called 'Foolish Game'. The session was produced by Robin Millar, who also produces Sade.

The CD, given a digital release by EMI, is still available on Busy Bee Records (see 'Buy CD').

In December 2009, they backed Feargal Sharkey, performing with him his hit 'Teenage Kicks'.

In December 2010 and again in 2011 they performed a special New Year’s Eve sell-out concert on the Terrace of the House of Commons. Guests included The Speaker, other MP’s and a number of VIP guests, including Duffy.

The second MP4 album, called ‘Cross Party’ was released in 2010 by Revolver Records. It is still on sale in all good shops and is available on 'iTunes.' It features twelve tracks, nine of which are band originals.

In December 2011 they were awarded the title of the ‘Alternative Parliamentary Entertainers' of the year at the 4th annual GovNet Awards held in the House of Lords.

In May 2012 MP4 became the first musicians to perform in the 900 year old Westminster Hall. The Hall is the oldest building on the UK Parliamentary estate and has played a central role in British history, famously being the venue for the trial of King Charles I. On 24th May 2012, MP4 entertained a capacity audience of approximately 1,000 people including MPs, Peers and Parliamentary staff as part of the Queen's Diamond Jubilee Celebrations.

On 18 June 2014, at a band performance they were awarded a commemorative disc by the British music industry in recognition of their charitable fund raising, having raised over £1 million in the previous 10 years for numerous charitable causes including MacMillan Cancer Support. The award was presented to MP4 by Tony Wadsworth CBE and Geoff Taylor both of the British Phonographic Industry.

Commencing in September 2016, MP4 appeared as the regular House Band on the satirical television show ‘Unspun’ broadcast by the Dave TV channel and starring comedian Matt Forde. It is believed that this is the first time ever that a band of politicians has performed regularly for a television show.

In November 2016, MP4 recorded a charity single to raise money for the Jo Cox Foundation. The band were joined in the studio by the Kaiser Chiefs’ lead singer Ricky Wilson, KT Tunstall, David Gray and Cockney Rebel’s frontman Steve Harley along with members of the Parliamentary Choir, to record a new version of the Rolling Stones classic track ‘You Can’t Always Get What You Want’. The recording was released on 16 December 2016 by Chrysalis Records. The track peaked at number 2 in the Official Independent Singles Breakers Chart.

In November 2018 th band released their latest album "MP4 - EP5". The album is produced by renowned record producer Robin Millar CBE and released by Revolver Records. It is also available on i-Tunes.

MP4 with comedian Matt Forde (second right) and the Rt Hon Justine Greening MP during a
recording of the popular Dave channel satire show ‘Unspun’ in March 2018 (Series 4)